Katharine Hayhoe

Katharine Hayhoe, this year's opening keynote speaker, is an accomplished atmospheric scientist with over 120 peer-reviewed publications focusing on what climate change means for people and the environment. A professor and director of the Climate Science Center at Texas Tech University, she has been widely recognized for her work in communicating about climate.

Katherine has been named one of TIME's 100 Most Influential People and the Foreign Policy's 100 Leading Global Thinkers, as well as one of POLITICO’s 50 thinkers, doers, and visionaries transforming American politics. Katharine has also received the National Center for Science Education’s Friend of the Planet award, the American Geophysical Union’s Climate Communication Prize, and the Sierra Club’s Distinguished Service award. She currently serves as lead author for the upcoming Fourth National Climate Assessment and produces her new PBS Digital Studios short series, Global Weirding: Climate, Politics and Religion. Learn more.

Heather Hackman

Heather Hackman is the founder of Hackman Consulting Group. She regularly consults on issues of deep diversity, equity and social justice with an emphasis on racism and whiteness; gender oppression; heterosexism and homophobia; classism; and climate justice. She has published and taught on topics such as social justice education theory and practice; heterosexism and homophobia in the US; sexism and gender liberation; and whiteness and climate change. Dr. Hackman is currently working on a book examining embodied racial justice and has published on the connections between racial issues and climate change.

Prior to consulting, Dr. Hackman was an Associate Professor in the Department of Human Relations and Multicultural Education at St. Cloud State University. She has served on the boards of the National Association for Multicultural Education and is currently an Advisory Board member for the White Privilege Conference. She received her doctorate in Social Justice Education from the University of Massachusetts at Amherst in 2000. Learn more.

Thank You to Our 2017 Sponsors